Magic Exists

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/daily-prompt-do-you-believe-in-magic/

I wake up, aware that something is off. There is a tingling sensation all over my body, from my toes to the ends of my hair. Exhaling slowly, I sit up in my bed and look around.
Same room. Nothing’s changed here. I see the mirror and stumble on my way to it.
It’s me. I’m the same me I’ve always been. Same features- long nose, freckles, brown-green eyes and dark hair. Same old band ‘Jack White’ t-shirt and pyjama pants. Except for the magnificent glowing light around my body, nothing’s changed.
I turn my hands over slowly as I gaze at them, disbelievingly. Closing my fists in an effort to feel the light emanating from them doesn’t work. I just feel my hands, warm and slightly sweaty.
On a whim, I bring my hand down in a gesture I’ve seen on some fantasy film. I don’t know what I was expecting. Lightning bolts? A fireball, maybe? All I feel is embarrassed.
My brother! I open my bedroom door and open his. A lump of human is somewhere beneath the mass of bed sheets. His arm is dangling off the side of the bed and there is no light beaming from his skin. The beginnings of a rash, perhaps but no otherworldly glow.
I back slowly out of my brother’s room and close his door. So, it’s just me then. I’m the only one who’s woken up suddenly and unexplainably glow-y.
Why? Why me? Why no one else? That’s not fair! I have to go to work in a couple of hours. What am I going to do? Or say? “Hi, it’s Amy. I can’t come in to work today. I woke up this morning looking like I’ve swallowed the sun. Umm-hmm. Yep, I know. It’s unfortunate. Don’t you wish you could plan these things? Well, have a good day. Bye!”
I shake my head and rub my eyes wearily. My imagination is running wild and it’s not particularly comforting right now. Images of me strapped to a gurney, wrapped in a straightjacket and laughing maniacally pervade my mind.
Yep. Not helping. I need to clear my head. Collect my thoughts. See if I can shake off this light or whatever it is.
I head towards the back door. Going into the front yard in my current condition seems like a not wise move and not just because I’m in my pjs.
The cold morning air fills my lungs. The rocks beneath my bare feet are sharp but I barely notice. Something about being outside has soothed me.
And excited me.
I have the sudden knowledge that there is something that I have to do. Some task I must complete. All thoughts of work and family and burning at the stake leave my mind.
I am one with universe. The currents of air surround me, fill me up. They are mine to control if I so wish.
I smile. I know what I have to do.
My arms, which were dangling at my side, slowly start to rise. I watch the light glow brighter and brighter and then I can’t feel the rocks beneath my feet anymore. The trampoline in front of me gets smaller and smaller as I go higher and higher.
I am rising with the air. I am as a feather in a breeze. This is what I was meant to do, what I had to do.
I look up to the sky above and shoot upwards, laughing delightedly.
I can fly!

Leave a Reply

