Blerg

2nd January, 2014

Just got a call from work asking if I could start a couple of hours earlier. Enthusiastically, I said “absolutely!”

Not really.

“Yeah, that’s fine,” I said, sounding as if I’d just agreed to have individual strands of my hair yanked out by crabby bus drivers.

So, that happened. What else…

Yesterday was quite productive, which is to be expected for the first day of the year. The trick is remaining consistent throughout the year, without the motivating factor of having a clean slate. I spent on a few hours on Uni work, finishing my first assessment. It just needs some polishing before I submit it. I wrote about 550 words for a fan fiction story as well as a general outline of the story. I have a habit of beginning stories with no idea of where I’m going with it or how it’s going to end. This year, I break that habit! (hopefully).

I finished reading ‘Good Omens’ by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. It was great; it made me really nostalgic for my mid-teens when I went through a total Discworld groupie phase (the setting for Terry Pratchett’s books). It was a timely Christmas present from my mum. Timely because I had just finished reading ‘American Gods’ and was eager for more Neil Gaiman. I even considered purchasing his ‘Sandman’ comic series online, but stopped myself at the last minute by remembering all of the bills that needed taking care of. Boo.

Anyway, imagine my delight when I opened the Christmas presents from my mum and discovered that she had bought me a stack of new Neil Gaiman books. ‘Good Omens’ stuck out among the selection because of its two authors, so I decided to give it a go first. Next thing I know, I’m giggling in the food court of the local shopping centre (where I work) and attracting weird looks from people. It’s a great book; I highly recommend it (but maybe don’t read it in public).

This morning, I got up early (blerg) so that I could go with my mum and sisters to a local coffee shop. It is something that we used to do on a regular basis, but the financial strain that ‘tis the Christmas season put a temporary stop to it. We seemed a little rusty at first; my sister even started reading at the table. By the time the coffee had gone cold and the pancakes had gotten soggy with syrup, we were chatting like crazy. It was nice.

Now, I’m back home and trying to make the most of these last few precious hours of freedom before my work shift (*cough* melodramatic). That means reading, writing, scrolling through facebook, sitting in front of the fan (it’s really hot) and more eating.

My life is a constant flurry of excitement, is it not?

Signing off…

Leave a Reply

