‘Hunger Games’ Purge

Over the last two days, I have binge-read the Hunger Games trilogy.
And now I’m having major withdrawals. I considered saving the third book for today, anticipating that depression would set in once I’d finished.
But, of course, I didn’t. I have no self-control. And I really, really liked reading these books.
I am always the last one to jump on a bandwagon. The ‘Hunger Games’ trilogy has been extremely popular for years and I never seriously considered reading them.
I’m not sure why this is. I remember them flying off the shelves when I worked in a book store a few years ago. Around the same time, the ‘Twilight’ books were also doing big business, so possibly I unconsciously related them in my mind. (However, I don’t plan to read that series.)
Another reason I may have overlooked the ‘Hunger Games’ series was because my Aunty recommended them. I love her and trust her taste, but at the time she was also avidly reading the ‘Twilight’ series, so… just no.

Anyway, jump cut to the present, where I find myself with the sudden urge to read the series. Why? The only reason I can think of is that I saw the trailer for the second movie in the ‘Hunger Games’ series and I was immediately excited to watch it.
I remember viewing the first one when it was released and I really enjoyed it, but for whatever reason, it didn’t make me rush out and purchase the books. So, this time around I think it all just came down to timing.
A few days after watching the trailer, I was seeing ‘Hunger Games’ promotional material everywhere and I went to the shops with my mum. It was Thursday. I was facing three days off of work with nothing planned and I was eager for something new to consume: a great television series or a great book.
At first, it seemed as if a television series was going to eat up my days off; I bought ‘Mad Men’ season 6 and the second series of ‘Twin Peaks.’ I figured that I was all set for a TV series marathon.
Until I wandered into a book store while waiting for my mum and began browsing. Within seconds, I had seen about eight books that I really wanted to read but the ‘Hunger Games’ series caught my eye. I hadn’t seen the new covers, the ‘adult’ version.


I considered buying them but they were $20 each and I had just spent a considerable amount of money on DVDs, so I didn’t. I had the sneaking suspicion that I would regret doing so.
Later at home, I mentioned that I almost bought the books to my brother and he said, “Lucky you didn’t because I already have the first one.”

So, that’s how that started.
Next thing I know, the second half of the day is spent engrossed in the first book ‘The Hunger Games.’ I didn’t get very far in it before knowing that I would have to somehow get the next two, and fast.
I finished the first book that night and the next morning, I went to the local shops in search for the other two. I found the second book ‘Catching Fire’ at the library but none of the shops had the third book ‘Mockingjay.’
Eager to read the second book but knowing that pretty soon I would be desperate for the third, I went home.
And I read. And read. And read. Near to the end, I sent my sister a text begging her to buy the third book for me after she finished work, which she did.
I finished the second book at around 5pm, but decided to have a little break. I discussed it with my mum; she advised me to save the third for today and I knew that she was right.
But still I didn’t listen. I devoured that sucker, reading until midnight had come and gone.
After I was finished, I was in kind of a post-binge reading stupor. Completely caught up in the ‘Hunger Games’ world but having no choice but to wake up back in reality.
It took me a long time to fall asleep.

Now, it’s today. I had hoped that a night of sleeping would have shaken me out of the stupor but most of it remained. I wandered aimlessly through the house, not feeling like doing anything but reading more of the books. Except there aren’t anymore.
Finally, I decided that I needed to be productive. Getting things done and completing tasks would distract me out of my funk.
So, I sat down to my computer with the aim of continuing a story that I’ve been working on.
But nothing happened. I was still so entrenched in the world of the ‘Hunger Games’; I couldn’t focus on another world. I was still stuck inside Katniss’ head; I couldn’t see from another character’s point of view.

So, I did the only thing I could think of. I wrote about it. About the books and my experience with them.
This is a very self-indulgent blog post. I am basically trying to rid myself of an obsession by going on and on about it. Purging myself of the ‘Hunger Games,’ I guess.
Now, here I am. Having got all of that out of my system. Thank you, readers, if you made it this far. My mind feels somewhat clearer now.
I may just be able to work on my story.
Wish me luck!
And may the odds be ever in your favour!

3 thoughts on “‘Hunger Games’ Purge

  1. In the process of the exact same thing right now. And then I’ll have to handle the withdrawels afterward. Can’t win!

    Also, I’m in the middle of the third one right now and more okay with their decision to split the third book into two parts especially if they decide to follow both Peeta and Katniss’ separate story lines in the beginning of the book.

    • I envy you! Still having some of the books to read…

      I’m glad that they’re splitting it- a lot happens in the third book. It was definitely the most shocking to read. And I agree that it would be great if they followed both Katniss’ and Peeta’s storylines. I missed him during that part and I feel like the audience will be more sympathetic to his actions afterwards if they see what caused it.
      Glad to know I’m not alone! 🙂

      • Welp. Just finished rereading the series today.

        And yeah, now realizing that part of the reason the book manages to stay under 500 pages is because Katniss is unconscious or hospitalized, I’m feeling much more confident in this two-part decision. I’m also really hoping that Prim’s character will really get developed in the next couple movies so I can be as crushed as her sister (or something close) when the parachutes explode.

        Just four more days!

Leave a Reply

