Spring has Sprung

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/daily-prompt-seasons-2/

First off, I have to apologise for my absence. I have some killer exams coming up- starting Monday and preparing for them is eating up my time like a gluttonous… thing that eats time?

Clearly, my absence is doing wonders for my writing. (sarcasm)

Anyway, this Daily Prompt intrigued me. I live in Australia, which is characterised by its dry, hot climate (for good reason) but that doesn’t mean we don’t experience the full shebang (what? I don’t know) of every season.

At the moment, in good old Oz, it’s Spring. And boy, is it ever!

Flowers have sprung out of nowhere, in beautiful, vibrant colours. In my suburb, there are many trees full of red bottlebrushes. I have one in my own front yard.

callistemon-citrinus

Every now and then, I see pink bottlebrush trees, which are very pretty. My neighbour, who is a grizzly elderly man (but surprisingly kind) has a random lovely orange flower growing in his overgrown lawn. Every time I see it, I think it’s a bright spot in a sea of green. I hope he doesn’t pull it out.

The flowers and plants have made their way onto people’s clothing, also. Spring fashion is here. I can say that with a modicum of authority as I work at a women’s clothing store. Bright colours, earthy tones, tropical prints and florals, florals, florals.

I like it. It’s fun, it’s cheery. The tropical prints, especially, make me think of exotic vacations in faraway jungles.

Fashion is escapism.

But I’m wandering on and off topic, aren’t I? I haven’t answered the question of the prompt:

Are you glad to be moving into a new season, or wishing for one more week of the old?

I think it’s safe to say that I am enjoying this new season and I don’t particularly want winter to linger around for any longer.

I used to think of Spring as a transition season- the step between winter and summer. However, I’m coming to realise that it has its own value. Its warm without being ridiculously hot (I’m looking at you, Australian summers!) and the return of colour to the world after a dreary winter is like going from b/w Kansas into Oz.

You can’t help but have your mood uplifted when the sun is out. Your worries seem a little less… worrisome when the world is so colourful and warm.

So, yes- Good riddance to Winter. *sultry tone* And hellllooooo, Spring!

Image source: http://meredithnursery.com.au/callistemoncasuarinaallocasuarina

4 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mid-Season Replacement | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mid Season | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mid-Season Replacement – The Return of the Leaf Soldiers | The Cat Chronicles

  4. Pingback: Promise of a new day | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

