I Try

I try, I try, I try
But I can’t
It goes against my grain
It’s not in my nature
I try, I try, I try
But it’s hard
To look people in the eye,
And have them see me.
Can they see it?
How I stand out?
The lonely girl pretending.
The pressure to blend
It suffocates, feels like
Something heavy on my chest.
I try, I try, I try
I really do. It’s all I do.
What gives it away?
A blush, a lowered gaze,
Something I say?
I try, I try- I’m tired
Of trying so hard
I can’t be that person.
Can you really be anything other than yourself?

2 thoughts on “I Try

Leave a Reply

