Help Wanted (but I won’t ask)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/daily-prompt-self/

I rarely ask for help. Not that I don’t need it every now and then (who doesn’t?) but I find it difficult to admit that.
When you ask someone for help, it can feel like admitting defeat. It feels like you’re saying that you’re not strong/smart/mature enough; can you help me?
As someone who is somewhat of a perfectionist, it is hard for me to accept that I don’t always have the time/smarts/muscle etc to accomplish a task.
I wake up every morning and I go over what I want to achieve that day. If I don’t manage to cross everything off of my to-do list, I feel bad about myself. Rarely do I ask for help, however.
I internalise problems. I don’t talk about them, give voice to them- it will make them real and unavoidable.
This facet of my personality has given me a kind of ‘robot’ reputation. Someone who doesn’t cry, who doesn’t feel and doesn’t share.
This bothers me a lot. But what can I do?
I can’t ask for help.

6 thoughts on “Help Wanted (but I won’t ask)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  2. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: I can’t do this by myself | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

